How do Hindus Worship?

Hinduism as of now is one religion with highest number of Gods and Goddesses. It even has the highest number of festivals which no other religion has. This religion teaches everything, right from the reason why you are born till you depart from this world. With no less than 33 cores Gods and Goddesses, this religion has its own rituals and worshiping practices. And these practices differ from place to place. Let’s see the greatness and diversity in Hinduism –

1.Hindus worship deities in the form of murtis. You can find the murtis of all Gods and most importantly you will see the murtis of avatars of Gods such as Brahma, Vishnu, and Mahesh. These three are known as Tridevas. Other most prominent Gods are Krishna, Ram, Saraswati, Parvati, Radha, and so many more. And when the denominations and philosophies change, there are varied nature of belief. Hindus believe that these Gods are in partially human or purely Human form, each with a complex and unique iconography. They are worshipped individually yet they are considered as one God. People worship them to feel and get connected with divinity.


Murtis are worshipped after every morning they are washed, dressed, and they are embellished with garlands of pure and scented flowers such as rose or lotus. The place where this murti is kept is known as temple and it is this place where you can feel truely devoted.

2. Hindus perform Pooja which is a kind of offering to God or deities, special guests, or distinguished persons. Poojas are performed by Hindus on a number of different occasions, say like daily pooja done at homes, shops, offices, and temples. Then there are poojas that are performed in temples and on festivals when all Hindus perform this pooja. This kind of ceremony is usually conducted for offering something or gifting to a deity. It is also conducted to bless someone in the family.


3. Then comes the concept of Aarti. This is when the wick light that is dipped in camphor or ghee is offered while worshipping to deity. Hindus generally perform aarti one time to five times in one day. It is usually done after the pooja or bhajan ends. Hindus circulate the plate of aarti to every person gathered for pooja. It is considered as pure blessing.


4. Darshana means that it is seeing, glimpse, apparition, or vision of the deity. For this people visit temples to get a glimpse of their deities.


5. And then there is Yajna, Homa, and Havan that is performed in temples or homes. Homa and havan are interchangeable with Yajna. In vedic times, people offered the sacrifice to deities as they worshipped them. This is done in order to please the God for acquiring certain wishes. This Yajna has divine fire in which the offerings are poured and it is believed by Hindus that whatever they offer to fire, reaches Gods.


6. Hindus use these while they worship Gods – Tilaka and Prasad. Prasad is offered to deity at first and then it is consumed. Tilaka is or Tilak or tika is worn on the forehead as it is the symbol of third eye that is associated with Gods.

Ref: Vasanth’s Blog


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s